A Wandering Elf’s Second Life

My (mis)adventures in Second Life

My Enormous Couch February 19, 2007

Filed under: My Building Projects — Cazzy Ewry @ 11:27 pm

babyblues.jpg

So I’ve created a big couch for my new bar (because everyone wants somewhere comfortable to sit while they’re drinking!).  I scoured SL Exchange first, to see if I could buy one.  Nothing there really took my fancy…but I did get a good idea after seeing a large square sofa.  I wanted my couch to be similarly big and squishy looking….and I would build it myself.  I was so pleased with the results that I made it in three different colours, with a view to selling them myself.  I’ve been trying to make it in the fickle world of SL retail for a while now.  Interestingly, I’ve never sold anything on the Exchange.  I have two prefab bars I’ve built on there, one is in a celtic style and one is a vampire/gothic type affair, and now of course I have the three jumbo couches up for sale.  Today I thought I’d try out SL Boutique.  I loved that you can set up your own page for your store…you can also change the colour scheme and upload a banner…very cool!  But what I loved even more was that less than an hour after uploading my items, I had sold one celtic tavern and one couch.  Woo hoo!  My first sales ever!  Makes me wonder if I should continue paying L$75 a week to rent retail space at the Beach Comber Mall in Hundertwasser…from which I’ve never sold anything either.  SL Boutique rocks!  Oh, and if you’re bored (or curious), here’s my store page: http://www.SLBoutique.com/Cazzy_Ewry/

elenasit1.jpg

This is one of my newest friends, Elena, who kindly agreed to model my couch for me (hehe!)  You definitely meet some very nice people in sand boxes.  Granted, sometimes you also meet griefers who are only interested in covering you with annoying green mist, making it impossible to continue building there because you can’t actually SEE what you’re doing…but thankfully that doesn’t happen every time.

I had fun positioning my freebie pose balls on the couch (I’m being sarcastic by the way).  I’d never used pose balls in my builds before and getting them into places where the sitting positions looked natural…hmm, that was hard!  I finally had to sit on each pose ball and then move it into position with me on it…which must have looked very strange to everyone else in the sand box.  LOL!

 

2 Responses to “My Enormous Couch”

  1. Hah! Giant furniture rocks!

  2. Cazzy Ewry Says:

    Hehe…Definitely!


Leave a comment